Credits and Bios

Mady Schutzman is a writer, scholar, and theatre artist. She is a free lance practitioner of the techniques of Theatre of the Oppressed and is co-editor of Playing Boal: Theatre, Therapy, Activism (Routledge, 1994). She has published essays in several journals (including The Drama Review, Women and Performance, Errant Bodies, Theatre Topics, and The Journal of Medical Humanities) and anthologies (including Contaminating Theatre and The Ends of Performance). Her book The Real Thing: Performance, Hysteria, Advertising (Wesleyan University Press, 1999)is a performative and image-based text that addresses the iconography of the female body in popular advertising. She is currently co-editing a new anthology of critical essays on Theatre of the Oppressed, tentatively entitled Joker Runs Wild. Schutzman is Assistant Dean of the School of Critical Studies and core faculty in the MFA Writing Program at California Institute of the Arts.

Jason Brown is a constellation manipulator {new window} who has presented extensively on the perverse and conspiratorial nature of networked information at venues such as Switch, SCI-Arc, CalArts, UC Santa Barbara, UC San Diego, and a small damp basement in Los Angeles' Chinatown. He is a founding member of the c-level arts cooperative where he has has helped organize numerous events and performances including MemeFest. He has designed many large web projects including Terminals and Microcosms, he has served as editor and designer for several journals including _SPEED_, Thresholds: viewing culture, and Trepan, and he is editor of the forthcoming book NTNTNT which documents the millennial death-rattle of Jason is founder and co-founder of BlebNet and is Technical Director for the School of Critical Studies at the California Institute of the Arts.

workshop videographers/photographers:

Stacen Berg
Anne-Julie Raccoursier

workshop participants:

Michael Adam
Hector Aristizabal
Afsaneh Boutorabi
Annette Bicker
Brent Blair
B.J. Dodge
Corky Dominguez
Doug Kaback
Robin Lithgow
Terence McFarland
Jennifer Miller
Marc Rich
Zoey Zimmerman